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Chair Howerton and members of the committee. Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony 
on mandatory reporting of child abuse and neglect.  

In Kansas, mandated reporters are required to report child abuse or neglect under the Kansas 
reporting law K.S.A. 38-2223, Reporting of certain abuse or neglect of children; persons required to 
report; reports, made to whom; penalties; immunity from liability.  Mandated reporters defined in 
(K.S.A. 38-2223)(a)(A-F) with reason to suspect that a child has been harmed as a result of physical, 
mental or emotional abuse or neglect or sexual abuse shall report the matter promptly as provided in 
subsections (b) and (c).  

Persons required to report (summarized):  

⚫ Persons providing medical care or treatment 

⚫ Persons licensed by the state to provide mental health services 

⚫ Teachers, school administrators and other employees of an educational institution that the 
child is attending and any member of the board of directors of the Kansas state high school 
activities association referenced in K.S.A. 72- 7114 

⚫ Persons licensed by the secretary of health and environment to provide childcare services or the 
employees of persons so licensed at the place where the child care services are being provided to 
the child 

⚫ Firefighters, emergency medical services personnel, law enforcement officers, juvenile intake 
and assessment workers, court services officers, community corrections officers, case managers 
appointed under K.S.A. 23-3508, and amendments thereto, and mediators appointed under K.S.A. 
23-3502 

⚫Any person employed by or who works as a volunteer for any organization, whether for profit or 
not-for-profit, that provides social services to pregnant teenagers, including, but not limited to, 
counseling, adoption services and pregnancy education and maintenance 

 

Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect are made to the Kansas Protection Report Center (KPRC) 
via the toll-free number 1-800-922-5330, fax, mail, or web intake. The KPRC receives reports of alleged 
abuse, neglect, or family in need of assessment 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.  

DCF maintains general information for mandated reporters of child abuse and neglect through our 
public web site Mandated Reporter Portal - Prevention and Protection Services . Mandated reporters 
may report their concern using methods of telephone, fax or using a web-based online reporting 
system which is through a portal available 24/7 at Mandated Reporter Online Report - Prevention and 
Protection Services. The general information webpage includes information and the form to report 
unexcused school absences if the designated educational/ school contact needs to attach that form to 
their on line report.  

DCF | Informational Hearing On Mandated Reporting   

https://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/PPS/Pages/Mandated-Reporter-Portal.aspx
https://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/PPS/Pages/MR-Online-Report.aspx
https://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/PPS/Pages/MR-Online-Report.aspx
https://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/PPS/Documents/FY2021DataReports/MiscWebPostings/PPS1006%20-%20Report%20of%20Unexcused%20School%20Absences.pdf
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In SFY 2024, there were 70,940 reports of suspected child abuse or neglect or a family in need of 
services received by DCF.  Of the 70,940 reports received, report source of those who are mandated to 
report accounted for 68% of the reports. (n= 48,253). Report source considered a mandated reporter 
pursuant to K.S.A. 38-3223 include Day Care Provider, Education, Law Enforcement/Legal, Medical and 
Social Services [Figure 2 and Table 3.]  Education reporters comprise 42% of all reports received from   
mandated reporters.   

Of those 70,940 reports received in SFY 2024, 53,899 were received through the online web reporting 
system. There may be seasonal differences, but generally, about 65% of reports are through online 
reporting, 30% through calls to the toll-free line and 5% via facsimile [Figure 1.]   
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Figure 1: Method of Reporting to KPRC 
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Figure 2: SFY 2024 Reports Received by Reporter Source 
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For those who are not a mandated reporter, reporting as an anonymous report source is accepted. 
However, many (non-mandated) reporters do leave their contact information and do not report 
anonymously.     Of the 70,940 reports of suspected child abuse or neglect, 6% (n=4,273) were from an 
anonymous reporter (Table 1.) Reports assigned for further investigation and assessment was 35,253 
and of those assigned 6.73% (n=2,372) were from an anonymous reporter (Table 2.) 

 

Table 1: Reports Received 
SFY 
2019 

SFY 
2020 

SFY 
2021 

SFY 
2022 SFY 2023 

SFY 
2024 

# of Anonymous reports received 4,950 4,960 4,543 4,138 4,358 4,273 
Total reports received 73,407 66,525 67,387 70,057 72,587 70,940 
% of reports received from 
Anonymous reporter 6.74% 7.46% 6.74% 5.91% 6.00% 6.02% 

 

Table 2: Reports Assigned 
SFY 
2019 

SFY 
2020 

SFY 
2021 

SFY 
2022 SFY 2023 SFY 2024 

# of Anonymous reports assigned 3,051 3,063 2,842 2,518 2,605 2,372 
Total reports assigned 45,801 37,940 38,263 38,870 37,776 35,253 

% of reports assigned from 
Anonymous reporter 6.66% 8.07% 7.43% 6.48% 6.90% 6.73% 

 

Table 3: Report 
Source, Ranked  

Reports 
Received  

Reporter 
as %  

Report Source, 
Ranked 

Reports 
Assigned   

Reporter 
as % 

Education         20,453  28.8%  Education 
       

10,917  31.0% 

Social Service         12,222  17.2%  Social Service          6,103  17.3% 

Other         11,158  15.7%  Other          5,224  14.8% 

Law 
Enforcement/Legal          8,984  12.7%  

Law 
Enforcement/Legal          3,475  9.9% 

Medical          6,168  8.7%  Medical          3,018  8.6% 

Anonymous           4,273  6.0%  Anonymous           2,372  6.7% 

Parent           3,135  4.4%  Parent           1,631  4.6% 

Relative          2,688  3.8%  Relative           1,471  4.2% 

Neighbor             522  0.7%  Friend             321  0.9% 

Friend             507  0.7%  Neighbor             292  0.8% 

Day Care Provider             426  0.6%  Day Care Provider             221  0.6% 

Victim             308  0.4%  Victim             166  0.5% 

Substitute Care               96  0.1%  Substitute Care               42  0.1% 

Grand Total        70,940  100%  Grand Total 
       

35,253  100% 
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The Department for Children and Families has a grant with Kansas Children’s Service League (KCSL) to 
provide mandated reporter training across the state that is funded in part with federal adoption 
incentive funds. KCSL is the Prevent Child Abuse America chapter in Kansas and continues to stay 
current on trends and research nationwide. KCSL also provides a parent support line through 1-800-
Children. DCF encourages community partners to use the 1-800-children line resource for supporting 
parents. Information on the helpline phone number is included in a (return) text from DCF for anyone 
who makes a call about concern for child abuse or neglect.   

 In SFY 2024, KCSL provided 98 trainings to mandated reporters across Kansas with over 3,000 
attendees.  Of the 98 trainings, 54 of those were Child Abuse and Neglect: Recognition, Reporting and 
Supporting, with the remaining 44 Perinatal Substance Use: Recognition, Reporting and Supporting, 
and A Shift in Perspective: A Preventative Approach in Supporting Families and Reducing Child Abuse 
and Neglect.  

The training addresses areas of risk and protective factors, definitions and common indicators of child 
abuse including shaken baby syndrome, and considerations for distinguishing poverty from neglect. 
Participants will also learn what to do in the event of a disclosure, how to make a report, what happens 
after a report is made, and thinking through roles as not just a mandated reporter but also as a 
supporter of families and how individual or organization can support a family before a situation rises to 
the level of needing a hotline report. KCSL maintains information on and registration for the training 
opportunities on their website at Training - Kansas Children’s Service League, Inc.. 

KCSL offers trainings virtually several times a month at no charge.  Trainings may also be presented 
upon request to a specific agency in person or presented virtually with no cost. DCF staff may co-
present with KCSL upon request. Funding for this partnership is through Child Abuse and Prevention 
Treatment Act (CAPTA).  

In February 2024 DCF, Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) and KCSL came together to learn 
from each other around reporting child abuse and neglect through an event called the Educator 
Reflection. One of the outcomes is to explore ways to have a training specific for those within the 
education system. Collaboration around supporting mandated reporters also occurs through the 
Thriving Families, Safer Children initiative and regular connection meetings with KSDE and KDHE.   

 

Thank you for the opportunity to provide DCF information on mandated reporting  

 

https://www.kcsl.org/what-we-do/education/training/

